Brutal but effective video from India

I want to be clear here: I found this video to hit some of my triggers. It’s intentional, in a sense, but it’s definitely not malicious. It hits hard because this is something that can be hard for people to get over, the idea that rape can be blamed on its victims. A group from India made this, and there is violence depicted in it (the presenter is physically assaulted in various simulated ways, and shows damage from it), but for all that, I think it’s very effective. But please do be aware of your self-care, because if you’re a survivor of rape or intimate abuse, there’s a reasonable chance this will push some buttons. In fact, it may push some buttons if you’re not a survivor.

I’m passing it along because I believe in its effectiveness, and because I think showing it to some of the men* in our lives might just have them thinking a bit about rape culture/apologia, and how hard it can be in our societies to avoid endorsing or condoning it.

It’s my fault.

Also, any comments having as their purpose the dismissal of the problem the video depicts as being “an Indian thing”, will be mocked, scorned, and banned, I guarantee it. Is it worth it?

ETA: Commenter Seize at Pharyngula (where I got this link – sorry, PeZd, didn’t mean to bogart your link) adds:

That film was arresting. For those of you lacking the context, the jewelry and ornate sari in the one cut are the cultural equivalent of a white dress with a veil.

I thought this bit of context might help make the point even more clearly. I had thought that moment was about how class is no protector. I also liked that some of the women at the end were older, or fat, or not conventionally attractive, helping to combat the idea that rape only happens to thin and pretty and young women. And I get why they didn’t have a man in there, because it would have been, for statistical reasons if nothing else, a very different message if a man looked at the camera and said “it’s my fault”: he would be assumed to be the attacker, rather than a victim himself.

* Note the qualifier: “some”. If it’s not about you, don’t make it about you. Also, please note that I do not disregard the existence of men who are survivors; the video does. But again, it’s not about men who are survivors, it’s about women being blamed for being raped. I think it’s incorrect when it says that “100% of rapes involve a woman”, and it’s fair to criticize it for that, absolutely. But its main message is one that has value, despite the problematic making-invisible of men who have been raped.

Leave a Reply

