Disability: medications

I thought it might be interesting to see what my daily load of meds looks like. This doesn’t include the one med which is not yet fully recognised as legal, and a couple of others I forgot to gather before taking the pic.

daily meds for CaitieCat

Meds for one day

These are:

  • four large white round pills, marked TEC: 5mg oxycontin plus 375mg acetaminophen (paracetamol) – analgesic plus anti-inflammatory
  • four small white round pills, marked 10: 10mg oxyneo slow-release – analgesic
  • two small green ovate rectangular pills: 2mg Abilify – antipsychotic, offlabel use as intensifier for next med
  • two large orange capsules with black markings: 100mg sertraline (Zoloft), antidepressant
  • six oval white pills, small, marked BAC 10: 10mg baclofen, muscle relaxant.
  • one (should be three) brown round pill: ibuprofen extra-strength, anti-inflammatory

Not pictured are my Concerta (slow-release ritalin, one per day at 18mg), or the various anti-allergy pills I take ad-hoc to combat itchiness effects of opiates, or the laxative and anti-nausea meds I take for other side effects, or that other med which ought to be legalised and makes it possible for me to, y’know, eat and stuff.

That’s one day. And it’s why I’ve been trying hard to keep my dosage down as much as possible, in all things: I don’t want to end up on a liver transplant list. In ten+ years on that pain med regime, I’ve had only two dosage increases, for a total of 15mg/day. And like most chronic pain sufferers, I don’t get any euphoria at all from all those oxy. I know that some people do, and that it can be very addictive in that mode, but believe me, what I’m not getting from them is stoned. What I do get is the Golden Hour, that period a few times a day when the meds overlap in such a way as to give me an hour or so of much-appreciated actual relief of pain. Because of the overlapping nature of the med times – my muscle relaxant is on a 3/day, while my pain meds are 4/day – this Golden Hour moves about during the day, but it’s usually a nice break. I’m headed for that hour next, should be around noon.

The rest of the time it’s all about fidgeting and moving and trying to find a “comfortable” way to sit. Usually failing, but there it is.

6 thoughts on “Disability: medications

  1. *cautious hugs*, with tons of sympathy.

    Craparooney, but that’s a lot of pills! I can feel my throat closing at the mere thought of trying to choke ’em down.

    • Thanks, cicely. You’re always such a sweet person. πŸ™‚

      And yeah, it did occur to me that it’s a hell of a lot of pills. It’s a bit surprising to me on occasion, too. But functioning is worth the pills.

    • Functioning is indeed worth the pills; and the world would be a much poorer place without you functioning in it. πŸ™‚ )

      (I’m trying to post this as a reply to your Reply, but am skeptical that it will come up in the right place.
      We shall see.)

    • Thanks! And yeah, could be similar meds. Honestly, I think I may need just a bit more Abilify in the winter, but I’m going to stick with the 4mg/day for now, and hope that as the winter goes away my SAD will recede, and I’ll find I’m managing much better.

Leave a Reply

